about

"Okay, all right, now, let's see. Where were we? Oh, yes: in the Pit of Despair."

Actual image of me updating my site at 1:30 AM

My pen name is Francis Morgan Gaarden, or "FMG" for short. You can call me any of those names or my IRL name, Ev. My pronouns are they/them. Some find that to be controvertial.

I love entomology, poetry, making playlists, collecting things, and Pre-Raphaelite art. I am a nondualist; my personal beliefs about life, the universe and everything more or less align with the Hindu philosophy called Advaita Vedanta.

My site URL, 'ephemerium', is a made-up word meaning "a collection of short-lived things". It embodies what I want to do with this site, in short, to preserve and encapsulate fleeting moments I feel like writing down and whatever else I find interesting.

If you notice my update count seems unreasonably high for what I have published, that's because I'm terribly indecisive about small things and prefer to republish something a billion times in a row rather than just sit down and proofread it in full first.

Discord: moss#6587
Mastodon: @ephemerium@mstdn.science
Email: ephemerium@proton.me
Link my site!

Some other stuff I like:

  • Thunderstorms, especially at night.
  • Moth hunting.
  • Letting people assume my gender, sometimes, and seeing what they pick out for me.
  • Beetlejuice!
  • Stickers, giving away stickers, hiding them in places, and the aftermath of them being found by unsuspecting persons.
  • Less making different flavors of cheesecake and more thinking about making different flavors of cheesecake. But anyways, baking, occasionally.
  • Literature: The Lives of the Muses by Francine Prose; The Library of Babel by Jorge Luis-Borges.
  • Music: Soul and psychedelic rock.
  • Movies: Little Shop of Horrors (1986); Dogma (1999); anything with bio-horror themes.
  • Poets: Frank O'Hara and Edna Millay.
  • Colors: Blue-grey, viridian and brown.
  • Collections: Poetry books, US coins, minerals, teacups, insect specimens, stickers, four-leaf clovers.
  • Favorite Arizona flavor: Half iced tea half mango.